HomeAbout UsProgram InitiativesNews and EventsOfficers and Committee ChairmenGalleryMembershipContacts and Links

 Charter Members
Margaret Allen
Jacqueline Baskin
Wilhelmina Burroughs
Leonia Burton
Doris Cunningham
Christine Evans
Audrey Fountain
Vivian Garry
Carrie Gatlin
Anna Watson
S. Ruth Haith
Elizabeth Hill
Gloria Hilliard
Arnie Johnson​
Elaine Levy
​Ophelia Otey
Lucile Roberts
Fredricka Smith
Lastinia Warren
©2016 AKA Delta ChiOmega • All rights Reserved | Sitemap | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy 
 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.® is not responsible for the design or content of this website. It is the sole responsibility of the Delta Chi Omega Chapter that hosts and maintains it
This site was last updated February 4, 2017.

Lucile Roberts 1948-1949
Elaine Woodson Levy 1950-1951
Margaret T. Allen 1952-1953
Jacqueline Baskin 1954-1954
Anna E. Watson 1955-1956
S. Ruth Haith 1957-1959
Helen Cromer Cooper 1960-1961
Vivian Garry 1962-1963
Mayola Smith 1964-1965
Rosamond Sanders 1966-1966
Dorothy Maggett 1967-1968
C. Louise Brown 1969-1970
Earlene Fleetwood 1971-1972
Blanche Smith 1973-1974
 Past Presidents
Ellen Reynolds 1975-1976
Janice S. Jones 1977-1978
Gwendolyn Holmes 1979-1982
Barbara Travis 1983-1984
Jamilla Pitts 1985-1988
Charese Jordan 1989-1991
Yendis Gibson 1992-1996
Donna L. Richardson 1997-1998
Elreta C.L. Dickinson 1999-2002
Vickie Brown 2003-2004
Michele McClure Lacy 2005-2008
Patricia A. Vance 2009-2012 
Deldri R. Dugger 2013-2016
Debra Hill 2017-Present

Historic Highlights

  • In 1959, first African-American group to host formal event in the Evanston North shore Hotel.
  • In June 1972, a photo of chapter's top scholars featured on the coveted cover-page of The Evanston Review.
  • Received the Evanston NAACP's Heritage Award and the Evanston-North Shore YWCA's YWomen Leadership Award, honoring its years of community service.
  • Awarded a $10,000 scholarship to a single recipient in recognition of sorority's centennial celebration.
  • In 2008, Delta Chi Omega became the first African-American organization to serve as grand Marshall of the Evanston 4th of July parade, marching with sorority officials, including the International President and Central Region director, as well as Lorraine Morton, then mayor of Evanston.
  • In 2009, the chapter's Financial Literacy program was recognized at the Central Regional Conference.
Chapter History

In April 1948, a voluntary group of determined AKA's compiled a list of twenty-five persons in Evanston who were AKA's.  All were invited ato a meeting.  From this day on, the wheels were steadily moving which were to bring our Evanston Chapter into activation and make the dreams a realization.  A charter had been granted back in 1944, and paid for by Fredrica Smith of Waukegan.  Obstacles impeded the progress; however, the Regional Director indicated that the charter was still valid and all that was needed was ten members.

​They were privileged to have nineteen members willing to be charter members. Their names were submitted and approved by Mrs. Lucille Wilkins, the Regional Director at that time. On June 25, 1948, Mrs. Wilkins, accompanied by Mrs. Irma Clark, and Mrs. Arlene Washington, a former Regional Director, traveled to Evanston and established the chapter in the home of one of the members. There was a ceremony, followed by a candlelight dinner.